elementalhealthandwellness

Healthy Lifestyle Philosophy

Cleanse day yesterday

Leave a comment

It’s funny how  we think that we need to eat six meals a day to be healthy.  Our ancient ancestors ate when they could find food – not all that often..a grub or two here or there, some flower buds if they weren’t poisonous and then if they were lucky enough to slay an animal they would all eat enough to sustain them for days.  In the current times we define a famine as going more than two hours without food.  Well, I am here to tell you that that’s not right!

A few years ago before I jumped into health and wellness full-time, I had gotten really heavy.  I was miserable, uncomfortable and overweight.  I was the emotional eater that I now counsel, so I know what it’s like.  I met a woman at a networking event who was a Holistic Health Counselor.  She has since become a really great friend of mine.  At the time she recommended that I start a nutritional cleansing regimen.  The program is centered around flooding your system with vital nutrients, vitamins and minerals and at the same time cleansing the body of toxins that make us sick and more importantly to me at the time, fat.

At that time I had tried every diet under the sun, so I figured “Why not? I have nothing left to lose.” I lose 5lbs on the first week of the system! That’s what I call motivation.  At the moment I am 2- 3 sizes smaller than where I was back then. 

One day of the week it is suggested that you do a “cleanse day”. On this day you do not eat any solid food.  I thought that there would never be anyway that I could do that, but after a couple of times trying (remember, the emotional eating issues) I got through one.  Every time I do it, it gets easier.  I feel like I am releasing that emotional dependence that I tend to have with food and creating a much healthier bond with what I put into my body.  I also notice that on a cleanse day, I have a lot more energy and sleep a lot better that night. 

It still brings up emotions for me.  When you cleanse the body, negative (toxic) emotions have a way of coming to the forefront too.  It’s a great learning experience.  I definitely had a tougher time yesterday than usual…I have had a very hard past three months, which I can explain in greater depth another time.  But, I will tell you that today I FEEL AWESOME. I am down an inch on my waist overnight.  I just feel lighter and less stressed.

Have any of you ever cleansed?  What was your experience?

To Your Health!

-Chantell

Author: Chantell

Have you been wanting to make a healthy change but didn't know where to start? Well, you've found it. My mission for my counseling practice is to improve the health of those who never realized quite how important it was before. I want to show the path to those who might have wanted to find it,but got so lost with all the information out there that they didn't know where to look. You deserve to be healthy and happy - all it takes on your part is a decision to make it happen and to have a good support system in place.

Leave a Reply

