elementalhealthandwellness

Healthy Lifestyle Philosophy

Eating Local, Eating Simply

Leave a comment

As a health coach one of the things that I work with my clients on is eating with the seasons.  As I learned from Dr John Doulliard (learn more about him at www.lifespa.com) when I was in nutrition school, the ancient medicinal system of Ayurveda teaches us that our bodies know what we need and when.

As a simple illustration: do you enjoy a roast with mashed potatoes, gravy and vegetables as much in August as you do in February? Do you crave salads in January as much as you do in July?  Would you sip a frozen pina colada at a Christmas party or would you prefer hot apple cider? As a species humans have always eaten with the seasons, that was until supermarkets came around and we could all eat salads all winter instead of hearty vegetable stews.

I have noticed in my clients a much happier, at peace sensation when they eat what the Earth provides at the time that it is provided.  So, today I thought that I would share a recipe for a green that is always abundant on Cape Cod in the summer.  I have some friends who belong to local CSA’s (short for Community Supported Agriculture) who have said to me; “I cannot eat any more Swiss Chard this year or I will go crazy! And what am I supposed to do with it?”

Swiss Chard is one of the most nutritious greens out there but sometimes gets a bad reputation because of it’s bitter flavor.  Here’s a really simple recipe that will take you less than two minutes to prepare:

You will need:

  • Bunch of Swiss Chard
  • A tub of your favorite fruit and nut trail mix (make sure it doesn’t have yogurt-covered or chocolate covered anything in it).  Personally I like the Aurora Salad Fixins.
  • Garlic
  • Crushed Red Pepper
  • Olive Oil

Directions:

Chop the bunch of Swiss Chard into big pieces.  In a small pot add one Tbs of olive oil, the Swiss Chard that you just chopped, a tsp of crushed red pepper, garlic (as much as you like) and salt and pepper to taste.  Saute at high heat until greens wilt slightly (should take about 60 seconds). Serve.  That’s all you need to do!

The fruit in the trail mix as well as the hint of crushed red pepper take the bitterness out of the greens and balance the flavors for you.  Enjoy this recipe as often as you like – it has a huge serving of nutrition at a very low caloric intake, perfect for those of you that want to lose weight.

For more simple tips like these or to learn more about what I do as a health coach, please visit http://www.ElementalHealthandWellness.com.

Author: Chantell

Have you been wanting to make a healthy change but didn't know where to start? Well, you've found it. My mission for my counseling practice is to improve the health of those who never realized quite how important it was before. I want to show the path to those who might have wanted to find it,but got so lost with all the information out there that they didn't know where to look. You deserve to be healthy and happy - all it takes on your part is a decision to make it happen and to have a good support system in place.

Leave a Reply

