elementalhealthandwellness

Healthy Lifestyle Philosophy

The Year of the Spartan (Day two of training)

Leave a comment

Today is day two of my training for Spartan (www.spartanrace.com).  I just received my copy of The 4 Hour Body.  Many trainers have recommended this to me – I will let you all know how it goes.  There is a major storm here for the next couple of days – taking advantage of the fact that there is only an inch of snow on the ground this morning, I went to the gym with my mother in law, who is trying to lose 20 lbs (I want to compete at my first Spartan sporting washboard abs).

Today’s focus was arms and a little cardio because the Insanity workout today is Cardio Recovery. This gets your heart moving but there isn’t really much movement that you would regularly consider cardio – mostly your heart is pumping because you are on your 30th squat pulse and you’re trying to maintain form.  It also has a lot more leg than arm work, so I wanted to be strategic with my time at the gym.

When it’s cold and stormy outside, it becomes harder to stay on track for me diet wise – the hot cocoa just sounds soooo YUMMY! But, so far so good.  Health is never easy, you just get better at working towards your goals.  I have some jeans I want to wear in the middle of the month that I will not fit into unless I eat well till then.  What are you struggling to achieve with your health?  Get some goals in mind and set little reminders to achieve them. 

Here is today’s Spartan Food of the Day

Raspberries

A cup of raspberries contains 8 grams of fiber – approximately 1/3 of your daily recommendation! When you compare the amount of fiber in a raspberry to its overall weight, you find that raspberries are not only the most fiber dense fruit, but one of the most fiber loaded whole foods in existence. Additionally, they offer a hefty serving of vitamin C, approximately 32 mg per cup, which is about 54% of a daily recommended intake.

And today’s workout:

Spartan WOD for 01.02.14
Day 2 of 31: January Boot Camp – Sprint Edition

If there is no struggle, there is no progress.
– Frederick Douglas

Warm-up:
5 minute cardio (jog, cycle, or row)
Dynamic warm-up – each movement x2 at 25 yards each:

  • high knee walk
  • high knee jog
  • butt kickers
  • lateral shuffle
  • straight leg march
  • skip
  • straight leg skip

Main set – Repeat 1-5 times:
10 push-ups
10 burpees
5 pull-ups
30-second sprint
1-minute rest

Then with a sandbag, repeat this set 2-4 times:
15 squats
50 yard lunge walk
10 chest passes
10 underhand toss
1 minute rest between sets

Stretch

Author: Chantell

Have you been wanting to make a healthy change but didn't know where to start? Well, you've found it. My mission for my counseling practice is to improve the health of those who never realized quite how important it was before. I want to show the path to those who might have wanted to find it,but got so lost with all the information out there that they didn't know where to look. You deserve to be healthy and happy - all it takes on your part is a decision to make it happen and to have a good support system in place.

Leave a Reply

